Wednesday, August 25, 2010


As I wait patiently until I get my hands on Soul legend Mavis Staples' forthcoming Jeff Tweedy-produced album, You Are Not Alone, out September 14 on Anti-. The album features a few very well done covers from what I read here is a great acoustic version done live of CCR's "Wrote a Song for Everyone" (via MOJO) along with the album's tracklist:

You Are Not Alone:
01 You Don't Knock (Pops Staples/Wesley Westbrook)
02 You Are Not Alone (Jeff Tweedy)
03 Downward Road (Pops Staples)
04 In Christ There Is No East and West (traditional; arranged by Jeff Tweedy)
05 Creep Along, Moses (traditional)
06 Losing You (Randy Newman)
07 I Belong to the Band (Rev. Gary Davis)
08 Last Train (Allen Toussaint)
09 Only the Lord Knows (Jeff Tweedy)
10 Wrote a Song for Everyone (John Fogerty)
11 We're Gonna Make It (Little Milton)
12 Wonderful Savior (traditional)
13 Too Close to Heaven / I'm on My Way to Heaven Anyhow (Prof. Alex E. Bradford Jr./Brad Pathway)

No comments: